Welcome to Sonos Handbell Ensemble!   Artistic Director: James Meredith

view shopping cart

BG top


Widely considered the best handbell group in the US.

-- Sarah Cahill
East Bay Express

Their music stunned us all. The four thousand audience members went wild, just as we knew they would.

-- Garrison Keillor
Host, A Prairie Home Companion

Olympians of handbell ringers.

-- Joyce Johnson Hamilton
Music Director, Diablo Symphony

The musicianship ... is solid, and the musical values regarding repertoire and its execution are invariably of the highest order. So is the sound.

-- David Vernier

Read more Reviews

A Very Classical Christmas

A Very Classical Christmas (CD)


Release Date: 08/01/01
Running Time: 55 min.
Media Type: CD

Quick Overview

Sonos plays as soloist in a collection from Tchaikovsky's "The Nutcracker Suite".

Product Description

Flutist Timothy Day of the San Francisco Conservatory collaborated with Sonos to create a recording exploring the varied expressions of the Christmas spirit in the Classical tradition. The CD presents a true melding of these two instruments, with Mr. Day the featured soloist in half of the recording's 18 tracks. These include the the "Badinerie," the famous flute turn from Bach's "Orchestral Suite No. 2 in B Minor", the middle movement of Vivaldi's luscious "Winter" violin concerto, "He Shall Feed His Flock" from Handel's "Messiah", and a brief appearance in Tchaikovsky's haunting "Danse Arabe" from "The Nutcracker", among others. Mr. Day's brilliant virtuosity is showcased throughout, including Mozart's "Alleluia" from his cantata "Exultate Jubilate" and "Rejoice greatly, O daughter of Zion" from "Messiah". Sonos plays as soloist in a collection from Tchaikovsky's "The Nutcracker Suite", featuring the dances "Sugarplum Fairy", "Chinese (Tea)", "Reed Flutes" and "Arabe (Coffee)". The suite is rounded out with the "March" from the first act and the ever-popular "Trepak (Russian Dance)" from the second act. From "Messiah", Sonos presents the contemplative "Sinfonia pastorale", which is one of the two instrumental-only sections, "He shall feed His flock", and a rousing rendition of the "Hallelujah Chorus", heard around the world at Christmastime.

Track List

  1. Dance of the Sugarplum Fairy (Tchaikovsky, The Nutracker)   play
  2. Chinese Dance (Tchaikovsky, The Nutracker)   play
  3. Dance of the Reed Flutes (Tchaikovsky, The Nutracker)   play
  4. March (Tchaikovsky, The Nutracker)   play
  5. Danse Arabe (Tchaikovsky, The Nutracker)   play
  6. Trepak (Tchaikovsky, The Nutracker)   play
  7. Ave Maria (Bach/Gounod)   play
  8. Aria (from Goldberg, Bach)   play
  9. Esurientes (from the Magnificat, Bach)   play
  10. Badinerie (from Suite No. 2, Bach)   play
  11. Winter (Middle Movement, Vivaldi)   play
  12. Alleluia (Mozart)   play
  13. Sinfonia pastorale (The Messiah, Handel)   play
  14. Rejoice greatly (The Messiah, Handel)   play
  15. He shall feed His flock (The Messiah, Handel)   play
  16. How beautiful are the feet of them (The Messiah, Handel)   play
  17. Hallelujah (The Messiah, Handel)   play
  18. I know that my Redeemer liveth (The Messiah, Handel)   play

BG bot